Skip to content

Makers & Brothers in NYC

July 30, 2012

Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled



. . . . . . .


During ICFF in New York in May, Makers & Brothers set up at The Standard Hotel in the East Village.  Makers & Brothers is a favorite of mine – it’s an online shop based in Ireland that promotes and sells simple, beautiful objects made by hand.  They tell the stories behind these objects – who makes them, where they are made, and why.

For their NYC showcase, Makers & Brothers decided to illustrate the process of making a simple stool – which is a very appropriate way to show off their brand and their vision: focused on process and simplicity.  For the duration of the 4-day event, James Carroll (an Irish furniture maker/designer) was with them and he was making 3-legged stools by hand from local NY wood.

I stopped by on the last day, and I had the chance to chat with James and one of the co-owners of the shop, Jonathan Legge (the other owner is Jonathan’s brother, Mark).  I snapped some photos on the Contax T2 with black & white film.  And I was lucky to pick up one of the last stools that James had made that weekend.  It’s now a treasured item around my apartment, and I like that there’s a story behind it.

8 Comments
  1. July 30, 2012 11:22 am

    I like the things they do.

  2. July 30, 2012 2:15 pm

    a great story, indeed. i bet those wood shavings smelt amazing.

  3. July 30, 2012 9:04 pm

    This set is so good! I keep scrolling up and down. Those shavings in black and white — brilliant.

  4. July 31, 2012 1:50 pm

    Stunning!

  5. July 31, 2012 3:07 pm

    These photos are gorgeous Brian! I love the piles and piles of shavings on the floor. Amazing!

  6. August 2, 2012 11:01 am

    I love makers and brothers. I remember seeing a vimeo clip of this. The shots in black and white are amazing.

  7. August 16, 2012 10:34 pm

    Awesome!

  8. August 17, 2012 11:49 am

    Pretty awesome dude!!

Comments are closed.