Skip to content

Walking Lanes Island

August 24, 2012

Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled



(All photos above taken with a Mamiya 645)


. . . . . .


In the afternoon, we walked to Lane’s Island Preserve on Vinalhaven Island. It felt wild and secluded. The three of us wandered on our own for a couple of hours (well, one of us took a little nap, too… ). There were very faint paths through the grasses, bushes and trees. After following a certain path for a while, I would come upon a small cove – other paths led me to a rocky promontory or around the headland of the island. One path took me to a cemetary and then a single picnic table. I picked wild raspberries and ate them as I walked. It was silent, except for the wind & the waves in the distance. I watched 2 girls wade across Indian Creek. I sat and listened.




(I took a lot of photos on Vinalhaven, it was a visual overload. It might get tiresome to see so many photos of the same place but maybe you’ll like seeing it as much as I did. I have more that I’ll share soon…)

9 Comments
  1. August 24, 2012 4:46 pm

    RTS showed me his pictures of that day and yours are so beautiful & peaceful. More please :)

  2. August 24, 2012 5:56 pm

    always such beautiful and quiet photos, gorgeous

  3. August 24, 2012 5:59 pm

    At first I thought the post was about and island called – Walking Lanes but then I figured out that you were walking on Lanes Island. No matter, from you photos (very nice) it looks like a place I’d like to go

  4. mcc permalink
    August 25, 2012 10:45 am

    vinalhaven is such a beautiful place. looking forward to seeing more photos.

  5. settleandchase permalink
    August 25, 2012 12:05 pm

    Beautiful loneliness..

  6. August 25, 2012 11:20 pm

    Great Brian!

  7. August 26, 2012 10:19 am

    I just saw Moonrise Kingdom by Wes Anderson, and these pictures remind me so much of their island. Your pictures are incredible. Thank you for sharing.

  8. August 27, 2012 9:39 am

    All of your Maine photos look like Robert McCloskey’s books come to life. I expected Sal and her family to show up. Thank you so, so much for capturing it. “Time of Wonder” indeed.

  9. Leah permalink
    April 6, 2014 11:10 pm

    We got engaged on Lane’s Island on November 6, 2013. Thanks for sharing these beautiful photos!

Comments are closed.