Skip to content

In Los Angeles, part 1

October 18, 2012

Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


. . . . . .


Randomly:

When I landed in Los Angeles on Oct. 1, it was 103 degrees F during the day.

When I was younger, the thought of celebrating Christmas in a sunny and warm place deeply unsettled me.

When I wake up in the morning in Los Angeles, it often looks like it will be an overcast and cloudy day; by 11:00 a.m., the sun has burned through and it’s shining. My friend told me this would happen. You wonder if this makes it an optimistic kind of place to live.



(I just picked up my film – lots more from California soon)

7 Comments
  1. October 18, 2012 3:29 pm

    very nice. I love that first photo. The terrain in California always inspires me.

  2. October 18, 2012 3:42 pm

    For what it’s worth, I live in LA and desperately look forward to cool cloudy days… I’m constantly disappointed by the mid-morning burn off.

  3. October 19, 2012 2:14 am

    Lets swap! Christmas in Australia will be an experience. One day me and my family will get to experience White Christmas.

  4. October 21, 2012 4:00 am

    Delicious colours/light in the first image. Can’t wait to see more.

  5. randall permalink
    October 22, 2012 8:16 am

    California really is a world apart from the Northeast. This time of year out there is beautiful. Some of my fondest memories of my time out there are of this time of year.

  6. October 22, 2012 8:55 pm

    I like the style of your photography very much. :)

  7. October 23, 2012 12:50 pm

    I live in the LA area and your friend is definitely right about the weather. I like to think that all of the sun we get has some sort of positive impact on our day. Although I have to admit, I get really excited when we do get a cloudy/rainy day. Love these photos!

Comments are closed.