Skip to content

New work: Tequan Richmond for Aritzia

February 25, 2013

Untitled


Untitled



. . . . . .


While I was in Los Angeles, Aritzia commissioned me to photograph the actor Tequan Richmond.

In his most recent role, Tequan plays Lee Boyd Malvo (the younger of the two DC-area snipers from 2002) in the new film “Blue Caprice”, which premiered at Sundance this year to rave reviews.

See the full feature and photos on Aritzia HERE.


. . .


By the way: I’d love to shoot more portraits this year. Please get in touch if you have an assignment or commission!

9 Comments
  1. February 25, 2013 6:57 pm

    Man. Great portraits, Brian!

    • February 25, 2013 7:08 pm

      Thanks, Erik- I’m really proud of these! Really appreciate your enthusiasm.

  2. claire permalink
    February 26, 2013 12:21 pm

    these are fantastic, brian. it is my goal this year is to shoot portraits of my peoples. it is not something i find easy to do, but it’s fun to work on.

  3. February 26, 2013 3:30 pm

    Yes, these are super photographs, wonderful portraits, very accomplished. I especially love what you do with the light in the second portrait, the fact there is a visible stream or haze of light within the frame,
    this sense of light “haze” is something I’ve noticed you achieve in many of your other shots on your wonderful blog, – I remember one shoot from a few months back of a sort of cabin, (in LA I think) with the same thing in one or two of those lovely shots also, so there’s clearly something you decide and orchestrate and nothing “accidental” about it.
    In fact, come to think of it, may i ask you something slightly technical?
    I love this effect. To be honest, I’d dearly love to have control over that sense or “effect” when I take pictures myself. (with me it does only happen more or less as an accident, alas) If you don’t mind me asking too much, is there anything I can do, with my shutter speed or aperture, for example or any other technique I could use – to increase my chances of emphasizing that visible sense of light? Any professional tips for an amateur like me would be gratefully received. Hope you don’t mind me asking. But either way, super work, I always enjoy my visits. -Arran.

  4. February 26, 2013 3:31 pm

    These are awesome shots Brain! love the lighting.

  5. February 27, 2013 3:59 am

    Hi Brian! Oh my goodness. Aritizia is my favorite brand from Canada. This is awesome.

  6. February 27, 2013 11:32 am

    These turned out great, Brian! Hopefully the time crunch was stress-free that day. And that California light in the second photo, ahh…

  7. March 13, 2013 1:04 am

    these look amazing! holy cow!

Trackbacks

  1. Tequan, Silverlake | the blue hour

Comments are closed.