Skip to content

March 8

March 8, 2013

Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


. . . . . . .

Working hard behind the scenes these days. Editing and prepping many, many photos from California. Working on a big portfolio re-org/re-launch. Scheming up business ideas, looking for new clients & new work. Learning tough lessons. Planning a portrait series and feeling excited about it. Tired of winter and NYC but trying to channel this disillusion into my work.

Also feeling squeezed and overwhelmed by the internet lately. So much hustling and posturing and copying and wanting. I’m looking for a quieter place … perhaps it’s time to step outside of the online info blast for a while. Spending less time online, and more time with real books and thoughtful movies and actual face-to-face conversation.

The winter continues; it’s snowing hard today and I’m thinking that snowstorms in March are never as nice as snowstorms in December. Happy to have photographic memories of California sunshine right now.

19 Comments
  1. March 8, 2013 11:09 am

    I can empathize with your statement about the internet. Quite overwhelming sometimes! Better weather will bring more days to spend outside! 12 days until spring…

  2. March 8, 2013 11:20 am

    Hustling & posturing & copying, oh yes I know what you mean. Sometimes being less connected can be so enjoyable…
    Love this last shot, it reminds me of the Calanques.

  3. March 8, 2013 11:25 am

    Mate, all of these are great – what is up with the sea in the last shot?!

  4. mike permalink
    March 8, 2013 11:27 am

    At least March snowstorms are usually not as cold as December ones, and the snow usually does not last as long.
    The internet is pretty beat in my opinion. I find myself just looking at the same old stuff. I’ve been making a cognizant effort to go more analog.

  5. March 8, 2013 11:40 am

    Love the photo of the light on the stairs. California sun is therapeutic, as is all the greenery year round, one reason why I relocated here from New England 13 years ago. I do occasionally miss snow storms and gloom, though, because they provide a reason to hole up, read, cook, etc–things I do less of now that I spend more time outdoors.

  6. March 8, 2013 11:53 am

    Hear, hear. Also, it is SO good to see the sun, thank you!

  7. March 8, 2013 12:56 pm

    Love the photos, especially that one looking down into the water from the cliffs – all that swirl of color. Have to agree with you regarding snow in March – it’s much nicer in December.

  8. anny permalink
    March 8, 2013 2:12 pm

    i hear someone yearning to find an excuse to move to southern california. i too love that last photo.

  9. Scotty permalink
    March 8, 2013 2:42 pm

    The internet can be incredibly draining. There are times when I wish I didn’t have it at all.

  10. March 8, 2013 10:47 pm

    I love the first photo. Today your words made the title, march8/the blue hour, so apt somehow. Thanks.

  11. March 9, 2013 6:32 am

    Beautiful shots, Brian. Have a good weekend in snowy NYC.

  12. March 9, 2013 2:48 pm

    What a pretty ocean shot. And some end-of-winter doldrums can offer interesting perspective – if nothing else sounds like you’re leaning into it and trying to find some sort of inspiration. That’s good right?

    We strictly limit our internet – and dropped pinterest etc — I think breathing deep and slowing down are much more important to real inspiration. An intentional step back is something I think most people could use. Take care of yourself ~

  13. March 10, 2013 3:11 pm

    A heap of books and peaceful times: the best way!

  14. March 11, 2013 3:36 pm

    i adore your photographs
    this is a real wonderful place
    i´ll come back :)
    have a wonderful day
    ___
    christine

  15. March 11, 2013 4:18 pm

    I don’t think it will hurt to unplug for a little bit – real, in-your-face people are good. I do believe you are finding a niche for yourself in architecture Mr. Ferry.

  16. Sinclair 3168 permalink
    March 12, 2013 12:41 pm

    Glad to read someone else feels the same. Such chaos online, hard to get perspective. These photos are like a cool drink of water. Very much enjoy this blog.

  17. March 12, 2013 4:13 pm

    I live in Lagos Nigeria- the Internet is an oasis of calm compared to what’s going on outside! I love your photos. Thanks for sharing them.

  18. March 12, 2013 10:39 pm

    I love your photographs and wish you the best success. I saw photos of your living space on sightunseen.

  19. March 18, 2013 3:50 pm

    Just developing a short story in my head…right now…about a man driven mad by the internet. We need to cut it out or cut back our time spent online.

Comments are closed.