Skip to content

Move forward

June 19, 2013

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

. . . . . . . .

 
 

I missed this place.

This morning, I was feeling discouraged and down about a few things. Looking for something to focus on to move forward, I thought about how much I enjoy posting my work here regularly. It is hard to post here daily as I used to do – film is expensive, my bank account balance is low, and I need to spend most of my time working on other projects.

But I want to get back to posting here much more often. Daily might be difficult, but almost-daily? That’s what I’m aiming for. Even if it’s just one photo; digital, or from my phone, or film … whatever it is, I’m going to do it. I hope you’ll join me and check back here often.

Above, a series of black & white film photos from Maine earlier this month. I’m a big fan of this set.

Better already.
More from Maine tomorrow.

27 Comments
  1. June 19, 2013 1:09 pm

    A series of masterpieces – thanks!

  2. June 19, 2013 1:22 pm

    a (mind-)set of sheer beauty…. I will happily accommodate you at any interval you choose to post – no pressure….
    i feel much better now too! :)

  3. June 19, 2013 1:24 pm

    These are beautiful. Even if I really can’t bear to, sometimes it’s best to just put something out into the world. If only to have something to look back at the following day – a souvenir from a different head space.

  4. Victoria Pichel permalink
    June 19, 2013 1:27 pm

    we appreciate every kind of picture you share: film, digital, iPhone. In the end, it is your view that we enjoy.
    So, thanks for coming back to the almost daily posts!
    Love the kitty one. And all of them!
    have a good restoftheweek
    vix
    @srtapm

  5. June 19, 2013 1:40 pm

    excellent plan, brian. looking forward to catching up with you here again.

  6. June 19, 2013 2:02 pm

    gorgeous series. almost daily is an excellent goal.

  7. June 19, 2013 2:09 pm

    VERY Nice!!

  8. June 19, 2013 2:32 pm

    thanks, Briain. Even one photo almost daily would quell my thirst. Your work are great!

  9. June 19, 2013 2:39 pm

    hurrah for moving forward.

  10. June 19, 2013 3:32 pm

    continuer c’est vraiment bien!!

  11. June 19, 2013 3:52 pm

    Looking forward to frequency–in whatever form the photos come.

  12. June 19, 2013 7:24 pm

    great, I’m glad to hear about your plan, I love your work

  13. June 20, 2013 1:34 am

    “I hope you’ll join me and check back here often.”
    Sure, I’d love to join and check here often. :)
    P.s: Your photos are so nice….

  14. June 20, 2013 3:55 am

    This serie is beautiful! I love the peace in it. It makes me dreaming, hoping and enjoying.
    THANKS!
    Iren

  15. marthasnail permalink
    June 20, 2013 4:56 am

    these are really nice and i’m happy to hear that you will be posting more regularly. i always enjoy what you share. thinking of you, friend.

  16. June 20, 2013 5:34 am

    These images work so well as a series, love them individually and together.

  17. Ricardo Correa permalink
    June 20, 2013 7:21 am

    felling down and discouraged early this morning too, but when I saw your black and white posts, I take a deep breath and… “move forward”. TKS for the beautiful imagens and the inspiration!

  18. Ana permalink
    June 20, 2013 11:41 am

    “Even if it’s just one photo; digital, or from my phone, or film … whatever it is,” Perhaps you can post even just to say hello. I can relate entirely and encourage you to move forward. I struggled yesterday too and received this quote: When thoughts arise, recognize them clearly as your teacher ~Gampopa. I painted, took photographs outside and read, bringing the discomfort along. By evening I began to feel hope. Wishing you a hope-filled day.

  19. Sue permalink
    June 20, 2013 12:00 pm

    Hooray!! I miss the old days when you would post more day to day finds such as music, good reads, and recipes. We do tend to get absorbed in the daily grind, but what I appreciate most about you and The Blue Hour is stopping and appreciating detail. It’s good for us and hope you find it’s rejuvenating for you.

    • June 20, 2013 12:52 pm

      Thanks, Sue. While I’m not planning to post recipes or other stuff here anymore (there are plenty of other websites that do that just fine!), I am planning to post my work here – photography is really my focus. I think of this blog as an outlet to share the work I am creating for myself and for clients. Although I haven’t been posting here as often, I have still been making lots of photos in the background, probably even more than before! And so I plan to get back into the habit of regularly sharing that work here.

  20. Zerlina permalink
    June 20, 2013 1:24 pm

    I missed this place too. It’s wonderful to see this today. Have also been feeling discouraged (& sidetracked) of late. So thank you for this beautiful inspiration to ‘Move Forward’.

  21. Sue permalink
    June 20, 2013 1:48 pm

    Looking forward to it!

  22. June 21, 2013 12:17 am

    I missed your photography like this, and more often.
    I felt sorry you’re not posting your photos not that often like before.
    I thought it’s because you have a lot other things to do, and I felt sorry.

    So I’m so happy to hear your announce.
    I do like your photography.

  23. minshu permalink
    June 21, 2013 8:44 am

    this is such great news, i love getting email notifications about posts from you

  24. June 21, 2013 9:46 am

    As someone who’s been following your site and work for awhile, and someone who left a corporate job on Wall Street (to pursue food writing), I know how you feel about having limited funds and lighter contribution to your corner of the world. I empathize with the stress of constantly looking for work, and focusing on stuff that actually pays the bills. I hope you’re hanging in – it’s hard, but you’re certainly not alone.

    • June 22, 2013 11:34 am

      oh man, I sure do understand that, Olga. Thanks for your words of support – it’s very hard, but also so worth it (as I’m sure you’d agree).

  25. Nick permalink
    August 4, 2013 11:45 am

    Is that your MPC Brian? Fat beats!

Comments are closed.