Skip to content

Howard Munce for Harry’s Five O’Clock Mag

November 1, 2013

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

. . . . . . .

 
 

I’m back in NYC for a few days before I head off again for a shoot next week. It’s stormy, the wind has stripped the leaves off of the trees, my apartment is dark. Listening to Brian Eno’s “Music for Films” which feels appropriate and eerie today. California was incredible – but more on that soon.

 
 
. . . .
 
 

Today I wanted to share some photos that I shot for Harry’s Five O’Clock Magazine a couple of weeks ago. We visited Howard Munce, a 97-year old illustrator, writer, painter and occasional sculptor who lives with his wife Gerry in Westport, CT. Howard is incredible and such an inspiration. I debated whether or not to post so many photos from this shoot, but I decided to share them because it was so memorable.

To learn more about Howard, his morning routine, and his amazing work, see the full feature on Five O’Clock Magazine. Sean Hotchkiss’ words about Howard and our visit are pretty incredible – enjoy.

17 Comments
  1. November 1, 2013 11:36 am

    Brilliant mate.

  2. claire permalink
    November 1, 2013 12:06 pm

    totally, awesomely, brilliant.

  3. November 1, 2013 2:06 pm

    Stunning, each and every shot!

  4. Nicole Gelinas permalink
    November 1, 2013 2:52 pm

    How are all of your photos so filled with light? Beautiful!

  5. November 1, 2013 3:34 pm

    what a guy!

    these are the best, brian. (& somehow, miraculously, even better than how you described them.) wonderful work!

  6. November 1, 2013 4:52 pm

    These are SO GOOD, Brian. So glad I stopped by before kicking off the weekend.

  7. November 1, 2013 5:17 pm

    Beautiful, bravo!

  8. adele stafford permalink
    November 1, 2013 10:32 pm

    so sweet, all of the life so clearly being lived!
    i love these photographs. heaps.

  9. November 2, 2013 5:10 am

    Beautiful portrait. Chapeau!

  10. November 2, 2013 5:09 pm

    These photographs are beautiful! Truly amazing.

  11. marthasnail permalink
    November 3, 2013 8:58 am

    wow! so good.

  12. November 4, 2013 5:26 am

    I think my commenting issue has finally been fixed so just popping back to say, again, how much I like these – so good.

  13. November 4, 2013 9:22 am

    This is a stunning series Brian! I am so interested in the way you do portraits. So much of your work is stills + nature, but people you capture incredibly well. Would love to see more faces!

  14. November 7, 2013 5:01 pm

    !!!!!! This is basically the best series ever.

  15. November 15, 2013 8:37 pm

    Brian, I love the clarity and sensitivity of the series of portraits you took of my dad. You have captured so much of him. The shot of him by the tree is spectacular!

  16. Christine permalink
    January 18, 2014 5:56 pm

    This is inspirational. Elderly artists give me hope about being old one day myself. When I see the way their lives continue on in what I imagine from the images is a full and fond fashion, I accept age a little more easily. I imaging being an artist is a gift to my far future self.

Trackbacks

  1. Emptying my Pocket, Vol. 5 | every moment's a little bit later.

Comments are closed.