Skip to content

Kettle’s Yard, part 1

June 6, 2014

Untitled
 
 
Untitled
 
 
Untitled
 
 
Untitled
 
 
Untitled
 
 
Untitled
 
 
Untitled
 
 
Untitled
 
 
Untitled
 
 
Untitled
 
 
Untitled
 
 
Untitled
 
 
Untitled
 
 
Untitled
 
 
Untitled
 
 
Untitled
 
 
Untitled
 
 
Untitled
 
 
Untitled
 
 
Untitled
 
 
Untitled
 
 
Untitled
 
 
Untitled
 
 
Untitled
 
 
Untitled
 
 
. . . . . . .
 
 

The idea of continuous learning / education / curiosity.

Of seeing a bridge between the domestic and the artistic in a very real way.

Of sharing that with others… students, strangers, friends.
 
 

… Some of my thoughts after visiting Kettle’s Yard in Cambridge, England. I went last month with my friend Charlotte on a sunny day trip from London. I had tried to make it there for a few years but always ran out of time. We spent over 3 hours in the house, looking at all of the artwork and objects, sitting in the chairs, reading the books in the library, learning a lot of new things (and snapping a lot of photos).

You can read more about Kettle’s Yard here. It left quite an impression on me. And not just ideas for decorating the home, ya philistines. (although that’s one way to look at the space)

More photos from here soon…

12 Comments
  1. June 6, 2014 2:04 pm

    It’s funny that you made the comment about the bridge between the artistic and the domestic, because that was the exact thought going through my head as I looked at these photographs.

  2. Gabriel permalink
    June 6, 2014 3:21 pm

    Kettle’s Yard… almost too photogenic isn’t it.
    One of my favourite places on earth.

  3. June 6, 2014 9:30 pm

    extraordinary

  4. June 7, 2014 12:39 pm

    Someone I know helped Jim Eade to repaint a room. She and a friend disarrayed the spiral of pebbles and spent something like 3 hours trying to put it back the way it was….

  5. June 8, 2014 12:26 pm

    these are killer photos, brian. really, really inspiring.

  6. June 8, 2014 7:09 pm

    Très belles photos !

  7. June 9, 2014 9:27 am

    I have just come back from Oxgord. Now I have to go to Cambridge to see this beautiful house :). I especially like the ceramics in the photos above.

  8. June 10, 2014 10:31 am

    beautiful pictures, very moody!!!

  9. June 10, 2014 11:10 am

    Your use of light and lines are wonderful. I also like the hidden treasures you find in small corners, like the antler that’s holding up a shelf with valiant effort.

  10. Liv Nansen Bie permalink
    June 14, 2014 4:59 am

    I like the way you have photographed all the details, you are clever. I love this house and feel so at home there.

  11. Victoria permalink
    June 26, 2014 2:53 pm

    felt very at peace looking at these. lovely

Trackbacks

  1. Kettle’s Yard, part 2 | the blue hour

Comments are closed.