Skip to content

Germany, last year

September 24, 2015

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 
. . . . . . . . .
 
 

Photos above were taken in northern Bavaria, Germany in June 2014. I was there on assignment for 2 quick days.

During that time:

We witnessed one of the more intriguing (and bizarre) German national fraternity traditions take place late one night in the tiny medieval town where we stayed. I’ll tell you about it someday.

At the same time, northern Europe was hit with a freak heatwave and so it was a humid 102 degrees F during the day (it is usually no more than 75-80 degrees F during the summer). We did not encounter a single air conditioner during those 2 days. I tried to sleep in my hotel room by laying on the wood floor, which was the coolest part of the entire room while I aimed the small plastic fan (no bigger than my fist) directly at my face. Between the flights, my jet lag and the intense heat, I likely slept a total of 3 hours over the course of 4 days. On my flight home from Dusseldorf, I’m quite sure I was hallucinating until I finally fell asleep in an empty row of seats.

One of the more memorable trips I’ve taken in the past couple of years.

6 Comments
  1. September 24, 2015 3:47 pm

    Amazing pictures — thanks for sharing!

  2. September 24, 2015 9:28 pm

    Beautiful minimalist.

    • September 24, 2015 9:29 pm

      Sorry, I meant beautifully minimalist!

  3. September 25, 2015 1:58 am

    it´s so funny that a trip to germany turned out that way… we don´t have a thing for air conditioning around here and during that heat wave all kinds of fans were actually sold out – it was insane! and don´t worry, almost all of the germans don´t have anything to do with that weird fraternity stuff, it really freaks us out, too!

  4. September 25, 2015 7:56 am

    Love these!!

  5. Kate Z permalink
    September 29, 2015 10:55 am

    I did a student exchange in Coburg during my senior year of high school, in 1993. I’ve been looking forward to seeing these photos — I remember that you mentioned it last year!

Comments are closed.