Skip to content

delancey

October 12, 2009

_13_0205

_14_0206

_33_0225

_32_0224

_34_0226

_35_0227

_36_0228

Photo02_2A

…………………………..

hi there.  it sure feels good to be back here today. i had a pretty awful week last week, one that i’d prefer to forget about immediately.

and what better way to forget about an unpleasant week than to talk about my trip to delancey when i was visiting seattle?

the phrase “labor of love” keeps popping into my head whenever i think about molly and brandon’s place. it’s a little cliché, yes. but i think it’s because i know how hard they worked to make this restaurant a reality, and how hard they still work to make it the place that it is. writing about it is tough; i wish i had molly’s way with words to aptly describe how i feel about it. but i will say this: to see 2 people follow their dream so completely, and to make something that is so utterly theirs … well, it’s one of the most inspiring things i know of. when i first heard that they were opening a pizza restaurant, i had a vision in my head about what it would be like. i imagined it would feel as if you were in their kitchen, chatting over a bottle of wine with some cheese and pickled veg. and you know what? that’s exactly what it feels like to me after visiting a few weeks ago.

and the food! oh my, the food. i had dinner with some new friends, anna, alexandria and jon.  what a fun dinner we had. we started off with a special starter that night – the wood oven-roasted clams with garlic, shallots and parsley. they were perfectly sweet and briny. earlier that day, upon hearing that brandon had found shishito peppers at the market, i told molly how much i love the way a certain NYC restaurant prepares them – tossed with olive oil, blistered in the oven and then topped with a sprinkle of lemon juice and sea salt. well, brandon made my night by suprising us with a plate of perfectly-blistered peppers. i’m smiling right now as i think about it.

and then: the pizza. brandon has really done something special here — it’s one of the best pies i’ve ever had, hands down. we ordered the margherita and the padron. the crust is a revelation – perfectly chewy and blistered, with a flavor that made me say to my dinner companions, “this is what pizza crust should taste like.”

finally, we split molly’s bittersweet chocolate chip cookies with grey sea salt. i was in heaven …. just perfect.

the space is warm and inviting, and it was wonderful to be able to meet their good friend sam after we had exchanged emails about photography earlier this year (he was filling in as host that night). after saying our goodbyes, we walked out and looked back at the glow of happy people through the windows. and i got goosebumps looking at that scene — brandon carefully watching each pizza going in and out of the oven; molly calmly working in the kitchen and smiling warmly at people as they came through the door.

congratulations molly + brandon. and thank you for the most memorable meal i’ve had in a long, long time.

35 Comments
  1. October 12, 2009 7:06 am

    These photos capture the intimacy of the place, as you describe it. I’m curious about the two photos in the corner of the window? Another nice detail.

    • October 12, 2009 7:10 am

      heather, those are 2 of molly’s snapshots that i saw tucked into a corner window at the restaurant. :)

  2. October 12, 2009 7:15 am

    This makes me smile.

  3. October 12, 2009 7:23 am

    I love the way you see, Brian. Starting off the week with pizza and gorgeous light is the way to go, I think. Thanks for that. And you do have a way with words, sir. Your own way, and it’s lovely.

  4. October 12, 2009 8:02 am

    What beautiful photos…I would love to visit Delancey sometime soon…I am sorry you had an awful week and I hope that this next week is a little better for you.

  5. October 12, 2009 8:04 am

    such a lovely description. exactly as i’ve imagined it. hope your week is better than the last.

  6. October 12, 2009 8:39 am

    so nice, Brian. makes me want to go there now.

  7. haeshu permalink
    October 12, 2009 8:45 am

    i think when molly told me brandon was going to open a restaurant last year i knew then that it would be something excellent. certainly this post makes me look forward to my meal there even more.

  8. Jean Prescott permalink
    October 12, 2009 9:00 am

    Your photos are fab, as always. And thanks so much for an update on Molly and Brandon. I so much miss her posts at Orangette, but realizing dreams requires full attention. Not a huge pizza fan, though your description makes me want to try it, and I’m drooling over those mussels.

  9. October 12, 2009 9:02 am

    Brian, great post. I can decide if I enjoyed the words or the photos more this morning. Thanks.

  10. October 12, 2009 9:02 am

    oh, welcome back.

  11. October 12, 2009 9:11 am

    you’ve captured something beautiful here, Brian. And beautifully. These pictures tell us so much about the mood there.

  12. October 12, 2009 9:26 am

    Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm…. that’s all I have to say. I want to go to Delancey right now! Thanks for at least transporting me there for now. Your meal there makes me smile.

  13. October 12, 2009 10:08 am

    Once again, lovely photos. This looks like one of those amazing restaurants where you get an intimate experience, spectacular food with authentic flavors, and a charming experience. Thanks for sharing and I really hope this week goes better for you.

  14. October 12, 2009 10:14 am

    I forgot that I am not supposed to come here before bedtime. Especially when you are serving pizza.

    These shots are beautiful, Brian. And beautifully Brian shots, if you know what I’m saying. This is the best review of Delancey I’ve seen yet.

  15. October 12, 2009 11:16 am

    A beautiful snapshot in their world. Thanks. I can hardly wait to go there in the spring.

  16. October 12, 2009 11:35 am

    First chance I get to go to Seattle, Delancey is the #1 place I’m going to. Beautiful photos and I couldn’t agree more about how inspiring it is to see people go after their dreams and work hard to make them reality. So proud of those two.

  17. October 12, 2009 11:50 am

    it sounds like a truly special place and i cannot wait to visit myself!

  18. October 12, 2009 12:14 pm

    Lovely post. I’ll be visiting Delancey soon and now I’m looking even more forward to it.

  19. October 12, 2009 12:27 pm

    Great pictures! And..I realize how hungry I am now. :)

  20. October 12, 2009 12:40 pm

    Wonderful photographs and it was a lovely evening for sure. Well said.

  21. October 12, 2009 1:08 pm

    Very very nice.

  22. October 12, 2009 1:22 pm

    isn’t it so good?! i had the pleasure of dining there with my family this past saturday night and feel much the same way as you about their accomplishment and the food. a post about it will be forthcoming.

  23. October 12, 2009 3:22 pm

    it’s funny, i want to go to seattle JUST so i can eat at delancey – it’s so exciting to see molly and brandon put this labor of love together! btw, longtime lurker and first time commenter – your photography is amazing… thank you for sharing these lovely pictures with us.

  24. October 12, 2009 3:42 pm

    it is just…beautiful, one day, I will come and visit too…your words are beautiful Brian.

  25. October 12, 2009 4:24 pm

    brian, your words are beautiful and certainly do delancey justice.
    man, i want to eat there even more now!

  26. October 12, 2009 5:48 pm

    oh how wonderful! i love seeing your photos and reliving that great evening. yum yum.

  27. marthasnail permalink
    October 12, 2009 6:42 pm

    this was just wonderful to read (and see)! i can’t wait to eat at delancey. have been dreaming about that padron pie.

  28. October 12, 2009 6:47 pm

    i think your words here are beautiful. molly would be proud. your photos also perfectly convey a sense of you and a sense of the restaurant. that pizza photo is killing me. i wish i could just pick it up off the page (screen) and take a bite. i can’t wait to visit this place someday!

  29. October 12, 2009 9:53 pm

    Excellent photos and kind words to go with them. Thank you for sharing them. I love that place :)

  30. October 13, 2009 7:34 am

    I think you talk about it perfectly.
    I was there just before they opened, and I could feel what you describe happening in the future.
    I’m so happy for them!

  31. October 13, 2009 7:40 am

    you said it
    perfectly.
    and your
    photos
    are
    just
    beautiful.
    i can’t wait
    to go.

  32. October 14, 2009 9:33 am

    oh brian, you certainly do have way with words. i simply cannot wait to try those pies. i still can’t quite believe i’ve not made it down there yet.

  33. October 14, 2009 1:26 pm

    I just found your blog off of a Decor8 post. Your photos are really good! I like the way the light works in the first few. I’ll be visiting again.

  34. October 18, 2009 8:59 pm

    you captured delancey’s goodness perfectly through these pictures! i too love it, i hope i can go back soon!

Comments are closed.