Skip to content

Matt Paweski’s Studio

March 28, 2014

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 
. . . . . . .

 
 
Back in February of 2013, I spent some time in Los Angeles photographing artist & friend Matt Paweski‘s studio. For various reasons, I have not yet shared the full set of photographs until now (even though I do have some of these photos in my portfolio).

I wanted to share them here, with thanks to Matt for letting me poke around and hang out with him. I have been a fan of Matt’s work ever since I first saw a piece of his hanging in South Willard in early 2012. Matt speaks a distinctive visual language that is manifested in his wood & metal-based sculptures. Below, I have pasted a few pages from Flash Art magazine’s January 2014 issue, which talks about Matt’s work.

Matt is also one of the creative forces behind Studio Spruzzi, which he recently launched with his partner Gillian Garcia.

I plan to continue my conversation with Matt in LA later this year, and I hope to be able to document more of his work as well. Stay tuned.
 
 

Untitled
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled
 
 

2 Comments
  1. March 30, 2014 3:48 pm

    I love this so much, great photos and amazing wood work!

  2. April 12, 2014 5:37 am

    Terrific series of images!

Comments are closed.