Skip to content

11 October

October 11, 2011











. . . . . . . .

I was looking through some of my archives and I realized that I never shared the photos above with you. I took these in Genoa, Italy back in May.  I flew from London to the Genoa airport and I had a few hours to kill before I caught a train south along the coast.   I explored the old city and the alleys and staircases that wind through this district.  On the excellent recommendation of my friend Winnie, I really liked the farinata (a chickpea crepe, sort of) and the other traditional Ligurian street food at Antica Sciamadda (pictured above; located at via San Giorgio, 14r – closed Sunday).

. . . .

On a different note, I made a new mix to share today.

You can listen to it HERE.

Track list is below, I hope you enjoy.

+ County Line (Cass McCombs)
+ The Bad In Each Other (Feist)
+ You Belong To Heaven (Luke Temple)
+ Ritual Union (Little Dragon)
+ On the Water (Future Islands)
+ Pebbles (Secret Cities)
+ Pushing Onlys (Woods)
+ Drmz (A.A. Bondy)
+ A Little Lost (Nat Baldwin) (a cover of the original tune by Arthur Russell)
+ Out Getting Ribs (Zoo Kid)
+ Fright Night (Nevermore) (Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti)

23 Comments
  1. October 11, 2011 1:29 pm

    Great photos! At home (Gibraltar), because most people are of Genoese origin we have Calentita (baked) and Panissa (fried) which are both very very similar to Farinata. Calentita is considered the national dish.

  2. October 11, 2011 1:31 pm

    Ulysses nostalgia
    evoking home
    Sea inside

    thanks for sharing such a stunning fragment of memory, moon child

  3. October 11, 2011 2:11 pm

    This is really making me want to travel.

  4. October 11, 2011 2:53 pm

    I love crispy and oily farinata. I live in Italy, Turin, not so far away from Genua. Can’t believe that you were here taking your wonderful pictures!

  5. October 11, 2011 2:53 pm

    love. love. love. love.

  6. October 11, 2011 3:03 pm

    i will be dreaming
    of chickpea crepes, alleyways
    as feist sings today

    ;)

  7. October 11, 2011 4:21 pm

    i was pleasantly surprised by genoa. love their trofie al pesto – why is it that pesto is so much better there?

  8. October 11, 2011 4:59 pm

    I make farinata at home sometimes but I’ve never had anything traditional.

    • October 11, 2011 4:59 pm

      …and you should come over and have some when you get back. Is what I MEANT to say.

  9. October 11, 2011 7:26 pm

    These photos are beautiful. A few months ago I had planned to be in Italy about this time (Rome specifically), but the plan is now postponed. Thank you for posting these and reminding me that while I’m not there yet, I will be eventually. :)

  10. October 11, 2011 8:01 pm

    These are some really great photos – you capture the city’s age beautifully.

  11. October 11, 2011 10:48 pm

    Man I love that Cass McCombs song. I love that Supertramp-y keyboard.

  12. October 12, 2011 2:14 am

    thanks for the mix. i really enjoy them, they are perfect.

  13. Lorna permalink
    October 12, 2011 11:32 am

    you beautiful person! best mix yet! i like every song :) they all flow really well too

  14. October 12, 2011 12:40 pm

    I just found your blog right now and i really love your work !
    I’d love to make beautiful pics like yours :)

    Sorry for my bad English, i’m French. Hope you will understand what i’m trying to say !

  15. October 12, 2011 7:48 pm

    always obsessed with photographing windows, too. these are so nice. I’m so glad you shared them!

  16. October 18, 2011 11:52 pm

    I’m a total sucker for Italy. I just love the place, the more off the beaten track the better.

  17. Cristina permalink
    October 20, 2011 10:29 am

    hello,

    just discovered you and your work via selectism.
    looking to your photos while listening to your mix was just peaceful.

    thank you

  18. October 20, 2011 4:35 pm

    Wonderful photos, as always. You never disappoint.

    But I’m especially excited to see that you put Nat Baldwin on your mix. I’ve been obsessing over that song for months, and I’m happy to see others enjoying him as well!

  19. October 21, 2011 12:54 pm

    you have captured so much of what i love about Italy in these images. beautiful work. wonderful eye. best wishes.

Trackbacks

  1. Daily Roundup | Selectism.com
  2. 11 October « the blue hour « aepxc
  3. Peaches | Salvaged Grace

Comments are closed.