Skip to content

A Chance of Thunderstorms

August 9, 2013

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 

Untitled

 
 
. . . . .

 
 
I really dislike pithy quotations that attempt to offer inspiration, advice, etc. etc. — but this bit from the film WILD COMBINATION about Arthur Russell has stuck with me for months:

“Not many people allow themselves the full extent of their complexity.”

I can’t remember who said this, but the speaker was referring to Arthur and his willingness to embrace complexity, his desire to avoid categorization & easy answers at any cost. I think this is important to remember.

6 Comments
  1. August 9, 2013 9:32 am

    Amen to that…

  2. August 9, 2013 9:52 am

    Great set of images too thanks –
    I’m not sure about my own complexity, but if my life gets any more complex I am going to have to step off the planet

  3. adamwgarland permalink
    August 9, 2013 10:54 am

    I just started following your work Brian, and this is the first “new post” for me. I love your composition on the fifth photo of the flowers. It’s a shot I never would have even thought to take but it works so well.

    Might it be that easy answers, lacking the grit required of their harder cousins, feel insufficient and cheap? Like good butterscotch candies versus a twix bar.

  4. Ana permalink
    August 9, 2013 6:45 pm

    Quote about Russell was by British journalist David Toop.

  5. Sara permalink
    August 9, 2013 10:21 pm

    nice set.

  6. August 10, 2013 4:32 am

    Really like the quote and the images. Thanks.

Comments are closed.