Skip to content

odds + ends

December 3, 2009

……………….

i’ve been getting settled in my new office and i snapped a few photos the other day. the walls are pretty bare for now, but the photo postcards i’ve got hanging up are from maria. i love them.

a few very random things to share today…

currently enjoying:
+ saladclub.co.uk
+ sight unseen (such interesting stuff — “a peek into the lives of creatives”)
+ THINGS (i’m usually not big on tumblr sites that compile images, but i really love the images here)
+ it’s nice that
+ the photography from edwin spring/summer 2010
+ and if you are wondering what to buy me for christmas, look no further

………
also, last night i had the extreme pleasure to be among 150 other fans at a special mumford & sons show outdoors in trafalgar square, behind st. martin-in-the-fields. and it was damn amazing. there was a huge, full moon hanging overhead and we could see our breath but the rain had stopped in time for the show, so it didn’t matter. they served up hot mulled wine and the band’s family and friends were there. it was such a special, intimate show and i’m thrilled that i could attend. they played a cover of “not in nottingham” from the disney version of robin hood and it was AMAZING. i’ve found a recording of the band singing this song so i have to share it with you today – listen here.

and if you still need to be convinced why these guys are so good, then watch this video.  awesome.

have a great day.

19 Comments
  1. December 3, 2009 9:06 am

    can’t wait to dive into these links. sounds like such an amazing night!

  2. December 3, 2009 9:23 am

    That is a supremely awesome song. Thanks for all the linkage- makes for a nice morning browse.

  3. December 3, 2009 9:28 am

    always love your music links-thanks. and we have that same full moon here.

  4. December 3, 2009 9:29 am

    oh wow. that is my all time 100 percent favorite disney movie. and this cover is incredible. i could listen to it all day. thanks for sharing this band with us, they’re wonderful.

  5. December 3, 2009 9:32 am

    new favorite. (that top image) im diggin’ the colors.

  6. December 3, 2009 9:42 am

    what a fantastic gig! and under that huge moon as well. lovely.

  7. December 3, 2009 9:54 am

    Always love the links. Thanks.

  8. December 3, 2009 10:37 am

    I am so upset that Mumford & Sons’ album hasn’t been released in the US yet! I’ve been patiently waiting. For now, I can just live vicariously though you!

  9. marthasnail permalink
    December 3, 2009 11:37 am

    i keep singing that song in my head today. sounds like an amazing show. are you going to go to a salad club event? hope so!

  10. December 3, 2009 11:55 am

    I am totally blown away. And quite certain there is nowhere in Korea I can get my hands on that record.

    And oh my goodness, that head-to-toe outfit has you written all over it!
    I am so glad to see you settling in so nicely, Brian. I owe you a nice, long email! After I take this long, deep breath…

  11. December 3, 2009 12:35 pm

    Oh good lord is that a great cover. That was always one of my favorite Disney movies when I was a kid. I really want their album to come out here.

  12. December 3, 2009 1:07 pm

    I am now impatiently waiting for that album. Love it, Brian.

  13. December 4, 2009 12:38 am

    Oh yeah…Mumford & Sons, heard them this past Jan. Awesomeness..no? I’m envious of the show…must have been very magical :)
    Love love love Not in Nottingham though…..hands down!

  14. Reyes permalink
    December 4, 2009 2:08 am

    Always enjoy your music links. After listening to a couple of Mumford & sons I had to get the album in itunes. I love “Little lion man” and “Winter winds”. Thanks so much!

  15. December 4, 2009 7:43 am

    your links are so inspiring..I really liked them….I just got the Nigel Slater cook book you posted about the other day and it is truely amazing..and I love to read in it…

  16. December 4, 2009 10:32 am

    Rosie of Salad Club is setting up a restaurant called “THE NO.1 VILLAGE BAKERIES” in a temporary space in Brixton Village, a 1930s indoor market in Brixton.
    For info: http://rosiesdelicafe.blogspot.com/2009/11/no1-village-bakeries-starts-here.html
    It’s part of a scheme set up by Space Makers Agency (http://spacemakers.org.uk/projects/brixton/) that has invited locals to submit proposals for temporary projects in the market’s empty shops..

  17. Mefi permalink
    December 4, 2009 4:54 pm

    i recently found your site through uniform natural [martha]. love your picture taking style. enjoy london!

  18. December 6, 2009 8:38 pm

    oh i love mumford & sons! saw them in chicago but that was a WHILE ago and haven’t heard new stuff since! lucky you!

  19. December 7, 2009 4:37 am

    I love Robin Hood and I love that song. The version you posted is lovely..
    Nice blog anyway : )

Comments are closed.